Tripartite Agreement Africa

The Tripartite Free Trade Area (TFTA) is a draft free trade agreement between the Common Market for East Africa and South Africa (COMESA), the Southern African Development Community (CDAA) and the East African Community (EAC). [1] Namibia is the latest to ratify the TFTA agreement and today the country`s High Commissioner in Zambia, Siyave Haindongo, tabled the ratification instrument to the Chair of the Tripartite Task Force Chileshe Kapwepwe, Secretary of COMESA. Since the ABC is a “common market”, Ugandan sugar is expected to arrive in Kenya without barriers, but Kenya`s suspicions that Uganda may try to get rid of cheap sugar from third countries have made it difficult to do so. Uganda, for its part, has restricted the entry of Kenyan milk into the country. During their meeting, the two presidents agreed to remove these obstacles, but immediately afterwards, the Kenyan political opposition began campaigning against the “deal”. In fact, there were no agreements, but only a commitment between the two heads of state and government to respect the principles of the treaty and its protocols. Lusaka, Tuesday, February 25, 2020: The implementation of the tripartite free trade agreement is now in sight after an increase in the number of countries that will ratify and ratify the agreement. Eight countries have ratified the agreement to date and there are six left to reach the required threshold of 14 for the agreement to enter into force. The member countries of the tripartite free trade agreement COMESA-EAC-SADC are: Acuerdo Tripartito COMESA-EAC-SADC tripartite agreement COMESA-EAC-SADC Acordo Tripartido COMESA-EAC-SADC NAIROBI, September 3 (Xinhua) — Africa`s Tripartite Free Trade Area (TFTA) will be officially commissioned in early 2020. The tripartite free trade agreement brings together 28 member countries of COMESA, the East African Community (EAC) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC). Last June, at a summit in Cairo, the heads of state and government of three of these ICCs – ABC, COMESA and SADC – launched the Tripartite Free Trade Area (TFTA), which involves 26 countries, for a total of 632 million people, or 57% of Africa`s population, and a gross domestic product (GDP) of $1,300 billion (2014).

The launch of the TFTA was the culmination of a process that began in 2008 with the first tripartite summit in Kampala, Uganda. However, it is not yet time to celebrate. The agreement must be ratified by 14 members before it enters into force. After it enters into force, the agreement will remain open to the accession of other AU member states. “We expect 11 other countries to ratify the agreement before the end of the year so that the TFTA can be operational,” Mangeni said on the sidelines of the 6th Annual Comesa Research Forum. The purpose of the comesA-EAC-SADC tripartite free trade agreement is to create the tripartite free trade area and to implement the customs union of the 26 member states. The ABC has made great strides in investing in new trade-related infrastructure, such as the development and operation of normal lanes and pipelines, the removal of persistent non-tariff barriers, improved free movement within partner countries and reduced telecommunications tariffs.

Posted In: Uncategorized